HiPSA gratefully acknowledges generous donations from the following members and supporters to mark its centenary on 29 August 2018. This fund will help sustain it in its second century as it continues to pursue its original goal, ‘to print, or re-print, for distribution among the members and for sale to the public, rare and valuable books, pamphlets and documents relating to the history of Southern Africa.’


Motsepe Foundation


Die Otto Familiestigting

Die Rupert Historiese Huise-stigting



Willem en Christine Cronje

Friends of the National Library of South Africa

Mr J de V Melville


Mnr Danie de Villiers

Mnr P Meaker

Dr Reinder Nauta

Prof Howard Phillips

Die Sasolviljees Trust

Van der Horst Family Trust

Dr Brian Willan




Mr Hugh Amoore

Nigel Amschwand

Mr M Bottger

Clarke’s Africana & Rare Books and Antiquarian Auctions

Prof Jac Conradie

Mr P Corgatelli

Jon Cummings


Mnr Gerard de Villiers

Dr Con de Wet

Dr Janette Deacon

Hermann Giliomee

Prof Brendan Girdler-Brown

Henk and Rene Groenewald

Groot Constantia Wine Estate

Mr B E Hersov

Mr R Howell

Mr Andrew Hudson

Mnr A Jagga

Mr Clive Kirkwood

Mr Ian Lapping

Mnr W S Loock

Mr Island Maqoma

Mnr A M J Melck

Mnr Hillie Meyer

Adv I J Muller

Dennis Nick

Jonathan Pennefather

Mr E Penzhorn

Mr Gavin Pilz

John F Plummer

Mr Willem J Pretorius

Mr N Schaefer

Dr Elizabeth van Heyningen and the late Dr Arthur Davey

Mnr O van Oordt

Prof Wium J van Zyl

Lyn and Richard Wadley

Ms Luzette Watson

Dr A G Wesley

Wine Cellar, Obvervatory






Mr D C Arnold

Mr Peter Attenborough

Mrs Tanya Barben

Mnr C F Beyers

Mr A Blair

Mr I A N Bloy

Mr M F Bosazza

Brenthurst Library

Ms Mary Burton

Mike Coward

Mr Robert de Beer

Mnr Tertius de Wet

S S de Swardt

Mr C R Enslin

Me A C Erasmus-Prinsloo

Mr Patrick Esnouf

Mrs E C Feast

Mr P Flint

Justice Gerald Friedman

Mr G S Giles

Mr J S Giles

Mrs Betty Gillespie

Dr Gillian Godsell

Mr Clive Geoffrey Graham

Prof Albert Grundlingh

Ms Sizakele Gumede

Mr G A H Guy

Karen Harris

Mr Ross Hartley

Mr W James Hough

Mr Peter James-Smith

Mr F F Kolbe

Mr Richard Lansdall-Welfare

Mr Jeremy Lawrence

Prof P M Leary

Mr John Leibach

Mr Colin Little

Mr Andrew Lowry

Mr Keith MacMullen

Prof M Z Malaba

Mrs V C Malherbe

Prof Pieter Maritz

Dick Metcalf

Dr and Mrs J T Mets

Mr Petlo Mohale

Mrs R A Murray

Mrs Sandy Murray

Namibia Scientific Society

Cora Ovens

Mr J Patten

Justice J D Pickering and Hazel Crampton

Mr W H and Mrs A A Pluckhahn

Mr Rolf Proske

Mrs Glenda Raad

Mrs Patricia Rademeyer

Mrs Jennifer Rands

Mr C G Rattray

Allain and Nicole Ravelo-Hoërson

Richard Reese

Mnr J C Retief

Mr O H Rissik

Louis Gordon Rood

Mr G S Roos

Dr M Rosenberg

Mnr Chris Roux

Dr Sandy Shell

Mr J V Snell

South African National Society

A N Starke

Dr Rodger Stewart

Mr J H Stretton

Mr David Thomas

Mr R P Troon

Mnr Jan de V Truter

Philip Truter

Mnr J D van Renen

Mnr Albert van Jaarsveld

Dr Johan van Zyl

Prof H S S Willemse

Prof Andreas van Wyk

Mr & Mrs L van Zyl

Mr J D Viall

Mr Tim White

Mr John Young

Mr Misumzi Zilimbola